Wake Forest University
The Screamin’ Deacons, the student section at Wake Forest University, are known for the trademark black and gold tie-dye shirts worn in their role as the sixth man for the Demon Deacons basketball team. They’re also in charge of “Rolling the Quad.” This tradition has been rolling strong at Wake Forest since the early 1960s as a way to celebrate big victories. And even with all that white toilet paper covering the trees on campus, the black and gold Demon Deacon pride shines right on through.
Nickname:
Demon Deacons
Top Rivals:
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, North Carolina State University
Style Facts:
The “Old Gold and Black” colors of Wake Forest were first introduced in 1895 by 18-year-old student John M. Heck. Heck designed a “college badge” with a tiger’s head over the letters “WFC” in black and gold. Black and gold were taken from the colors of a tiger, Wake Forest’s first mascot. But in the early 1920s, the school’s teams were referred to as “The Old Gold and Black” or the “Baptists.” The term “Demon Deacons” was first used in 1923 to describe Wake Forest’s fighting spirit and “devilish” play after beating rival Duke in football. The nickname stuck and continues to be one of the most unique in collegiate sports.